£6 million start-up boost for disadvantaged areas

A dozen groups representing “disadvantaged communities” all over the UK have received over £6 million of Government funds to help them encourage business and enterprise in their local areas.

The money has come through the Phoenix Fund, a source of funding designed to support business start-ups in communities that have less opportunities than those in more affluent areas.

The 12 recipients of the funds are listed below with the areas they target and contacts:

Train 2000 – women entrepreneurs in Merseyside – Maggie O’Carroll 0151-236 6601 or Helen@train2000.org.uk.

Bristol East Side Traders – inner city areas in the South West – Helen Bone 0117-916 6421 or ruth@bristoleastsidetraders.co.uk.

Social Firms UK – social enterprises nationwide – Sally Reynolds 01737-764021 or sreynolds@cqm.co.uk.

ABi Associates – African and Caribbean community in London – Ruth Djang 020-8426 3990 or ruth@abi.co.uk.

Centre for Enterprise – general enterprise in the East Midlands – Kash Khunkhuna 0116-229 3300 or kash.khunkhuna@centreforenterprise.co.uk.

Voluntary Action Cumbria – rural communities in Cumbria – Viv Lewis 01768-214805 or viv.lewis@encom.org.uk.

Co-Active – social enterprises in Devon and Cornwall – Judith Reynolds 01752-500888 or contact@co-active.org.uk.

WEETU (Women’s Employment, Enterprise and Training Unit) – general enterprise in Norfolk and nartionwide – Alison Mcfarlane 01603-767367 or a.mcfarlane@weetu.org.

Civic Trust Regeneration Unit/New Economics Foundation – harnessing skills in disadvantaged areas nationwide – Paul Squires 024-7623 1956 or psquires@civictrust.org.uk.

Women’s Business Development Agency – women entrepreneurs in West Midlands and the South West – Sally Arkley 024-7658 1958 or sally@wbda.co.uk.

Food & Drink Forum – encouraging food and drink businesses in East Midlands – Shona Munro 0115-875 8884 or shona.munro@enterpriseinfood.co.uk.

Mazorca Projects – support owner-managers of design businesses in East London – Dieneke Ferguson 020-7729 3800 or info@mazorcaprojects.com.

 

Related Topics

Leave a comment